Parish Administration

About the Parish

The Parish of Caddo is located in the northwest corner of the State of Louisiana, which is the only state in the nation that refers to area political subdivisions as parishes rather than counties. Caddo Parish operates under a Home Rule Charter adopted by the voters that became effective in 1984.

Form of Government

As provided by the Home Rule Charter, our parish operates under a Commission-Administration form of government. The Caddo Parish Commission is composed of 12 elected commissioners and constitutes the legislative branch of the parish government. A parish Administrator, appointed by the Commission, is the chief executive officer and head of the executive branch.


The administrator is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the departments of Finance and Human Resources, Facilities and Maintenance, Public Works, Parks and Recreation, Animal Services and Mosquito Control, and Juvenile Services. Citizens of Caddo Parish provide funding for the operation of the parish through taxes.